Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors are local individuals who have a vested interest in seeing Bessemer Academy achieve excellence. Board members are nominated and voted on at our annual founder’s meeting which is a business meeting held to conduct school business. Board members meet monthly at the school to discuss the operation of the school and stay in close contact via phone and email throughout the month as needed to provide oversight. The Board revises and updates policies and procedures to meet the needs of our students, faculty, staff, and facilities, so parents are encouraged to get involved as well as read and review the handbook periodically. Because there is not a cover church for Bessemer Academy, we operate under the ownership of its foundation which are you, the families who send their children to Bessemer Academy.

Attending this meeting is more than just an obligatory “PTSO” duty. It is a time we can all come together and make important decisions about the future of our school. Please contact the school office at 205-428-6288 to inquire about how you can be nominated as a board member and when our annual foundation meeting is.


Board of Directors 2016-17

Tim Hamrick, president

Brooke Nixon, vice president

Brad Tinsley, secretary

Ted Davis, treasurer

Wes Russell

Joe Brister

Rusty Jones

Tim Mergenthal



Call us at: (205)428-6288
Preschool (205)426-9842
Fax us at: (205)426-8888
1705 4th Ave SW Bessemer, AL 35022
© 2015 Bessemer Academy Honors Class